Site hosted by Build your free website today!
Shotokan Karate

Shotokan Karate was created by Gichin Funakoshi, his first dojo was established in 1922 and was located in a dormitory. To support himself Funakoshi cleaned the dormitory during the day, and taught Karate at night. After years of travel and teaching Master Funakoshi finally settled on what was later to be called Shotokan.

Shotokan has 16 original and emphasises two ideas in it's training: Balance and Muscle control. Shotokan has a firm belief that study eliminates ego and promotes hard, honest work, humility and excellence.

Shotokan Karate is physically distinguishable from other systems in its adaptation of nearly every one of its techniques to linear fightning, with its philosophy being that the shortest distance between two points is a straight line. Shotokan fighters are recognized by their excellent posture, low stance and hip power, a trade mark of Japanese Karate in general and Shotokan in particular.

Shotokan advocates advancement, but in technique rather quantities of knowledge. What is important in Shotokan then, is to develop each technique to it's maximum, not necessarily scoring a point in a match, but scoring it well. A Shotokan stylist will continue training to maintain its quality.

Kata's In This System

  • Taikyoku Shodan (first cause level one)
  • Heian Shodan (peaceful mind first level)
  • Heian Nidan (peaceful mind second level)
  • Heian Sandan (peaceful mind third level)
  • Heian Yodan (peaceful mind fourth level)
  • Heian Godan (peaceful mind fifth level)
  • Tekki Shodan (iron horse first level)
  • Tekki Nidan (iron horse second level)
  • Tekki Sandan (iron horse third level)
  • Bassai Dai (to penetrate the fortress greater)
  • Bassai Sho (to penetrate the fortress lesser)
  • Enpi (flight of the swallow)
  • Kanku Dai (sky viewing greater)
  • Kanku Sho (sky viewing lesser)
  • Gankaku (crane on a rock)
  • Nijushiho (twenty four steps)
  • Meikyo (mirror of the soul)
  • Jion (to love the sound {of shaolin})
  • Gojushiho (fifty four steps)
  • Unsu (cloud defense)
  • Ji-in (love of truth)
  • Hangetsu (half moon)
  • Jutte/Jitte (ten hands)
  • Sochin (to overcome using the power of Ki)
  • Wankan (sword arm)
  • Chinte (to restore the calm)
  • ((Kata's vary between organizations and nations))